Education System & National Framework of Qualifications

HK,UK,Ireland 學制-01

Ireland Education System

The education system in Ireland and Hong Kong is quite similar, it includes 3 years junior cycle, 3 years senior cycle and 4 years tertiary education. Students who are studying A-levels and IB are also able to transfer to the Irish Leaving Certificate programme.

The appropriate entry years include secondary 1, 2, 4(TY) and 5.

National Framework of Qualifications (NFQ)

The NFQ is maintained by the NQAI, it is a system of ten levels which capture all learning from the very initial stages to the most advanced, and all recognised Irish awards are included in the NFQ. It allows students to compare and contrast qualifications and to plan their education and training and career progression. This information will help you to judge whether a course will lead you to the outcomes you expect. Students are encouraged to use the NFQ to identify the qualification they will achieve before making decisions on their study pathway. For more information please visit

Quality and Qualifications Ireland (QQI)

On 6 November 2012, the National Qualifications Authority of Ireland(NQAI) completed its amalgamation with Higher Education and Training Award Committee (HETAC), FETAC and the Irish Universities Quality Board (IUQB) and a new integrated agency, QQI, was established.  QQI is responsible for the external quality assurance of further and higher education and training (including English language provision) and validates programmes and makes awards for certain providers in these sectors.The quality and standard of all Irish educational awards of QQI are fully recognised globally.

Awards and qualifications formerly made by HETAC, FETAC and IUQB continue to be recognized but the awards now are made by QQI.  You will continue to see the names FETAC, HETAC, NQAI and IUQB being used in this website for ease of reference during this transition period.