Higher Education

Higher Education

The higher education system in Ireland includes the university sector, the technological sector and the colleges of education, they enjoy high autonomous but substantially government funded.  There are also private and independent colleges.  The academic year runs from September to June with holidays in December (Christmas) and April (Easter).  Most universities run a semester system and modular programme allowing greater flexibility for students.

Entry requirements for Irish students to university are based on the result of the Leaving Certificate examination, the final secondary school examination. There are over 60% of students who complete second level proceed to higher education, one of the highest rates in the world. Entry requirements for overseas students are in general based on their national examination performance and standard of English language.

The universities, the Dublin Institute of Technology and a number of the Institutes of Technology are authorized to confer their own awards, whereas the Higher Education and Training Awards Council (HETAC) is authorized to make awards in the non-university sector. HETAC makes awards and sets and monitors standards at all levels of higher education and training up to doctorate level.

The following academic awards can be achieved at Irish higher education institutions:

Higher Certificate: Two year full-time course
Ordinary Bachelors Degree: Three year full time course
Honours Bachelors Degree: Normally a three or four year course
The Bachelors grading system works as follows:

  • First
  • Upper Second (2:1)
  • Lower Second (2:2)
  • Third
  • Pass
  • Fail

Graduate Diploma: Designed for graduates seeking a vocational reorientation – usually a one year course.
Masters degree: Either by research or through a taught programme. Normally one to two year(s) duration.
Doctorate (PhD): Usually takes a minimum of three years of original research. Doctorates are usually awarded pass or fail, with distinctions in rare cases.

Universities

There are seven universities in Ireland.

The seven universities in Ireland are attractive destinations for Irish, European and international students.  The universities are offering the most advanced quality education and exciting cultural experience for studying and undertaking research through a broad range of programmes.  Particularly, significant government investment in research and development makes the Irish universities an attractive base for young researchers and scholars. These universities ensure Ireland continues to advance and becomes a developed knowledge society and reinforce their outstanding performance in research and the nurturing of highly-skilled graduates.

Irish university degrees are fully recognised internationally, ensuring graduates from Irish universities can make full use of their qualifications across Europe and Worldwide. Recent official reports show that Ireland is at the top of the league in implementing major European higher education and research policies, and the universities are full participants in many European and international teaching networks.

Universities award their own degrees using external examiners to ensure consistency of standards. There is also a Higher Education Authority (HEA) which oversees the work of the universities on behalf of the Department of Education and Skills.

Institutes of Technology

Ireland is one of the largest exporters of software in the world and rates amongst the top five producers of pharmaceuticals and fine chemicals globally. The ever-increasing demands of this high technology economy have ensured that our higher education technological sector offers the highest and most advanced standards and opportunities available today.

There are 14 institutes of technology in the Republic of Ireland.

Dublin Institute of Technology
Athlone Institute of Technology
Institute of Technology Carlow
Waterford Institute of Technology
Cork Institute of Technology
Dundalk Institute of Technology
Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design & Technology
Institute of Technology Tralee
Limerick Institute of Technology
Institute of Technology Tallaght
Galway Mayo Institute of Technology
Institute of Technology Blanchardstown
Institute of Technology Sligo
Letterkenny Institute of Technology

They are offering programmes at levels 6 to 10 of the National framework of qualifications. These involve undergraduate programmes leading to higher certificate awards, and from Ordinary Bachelor degrees to Masters and Doctoral degrees. Most have schools of Science, Engineering & Technology and Business. In addition many of the institutes have developed special programmes in areas such as Humanities & Languages, Paramedical Studies and Healthcare, Art & Design, and Tourism.

Each institute, following agreement of its quality assurance procedures with the HETAC, validates its own programmes.  The qualifications awarded by HETAC are internationally recognised by academic, professional, trade and craft bodies. In addition most colleges also have courses leading directly to the examinations of the many professional institutes.

NUI Recognised Colleges

The National University of Ireland (NUI) is a federal university system of constituent universities and recognised colleges.  Besides the 4 constituent colleges, UCD, UCC, NUIG and NUIM, there are 5 NUI recognised colleges:

  • Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland
  • National College of Art and Design
  • Milton Institute of Theology and Philosophy
  • Shannon College of Hotel Management
  • Institute of Public Administration

Private Colleges

Side by side with the publicly funded tertiary sector are a number of private institutions mainly involved in the provision of business and professional educational training. Courses on offer include; Accountancy and Business Studies, Law, Humanities, Hotel and Catering, Tourism Studies and Art. Many of the programmes offered by these colleges are validated by the HETAC and some have links with universities and/or professional associations through which the courses on offer are accredited.
Note :

On 6 November 2012, the NQAI completed its amalgamation with HETAC, FETAC and the Irish Universities Quality Board (IUQB) and a new integrated agency, QQI, was established.  Awards and qualifications formerly made by HETAC, FETAC and IUQB continue to be recognized but the awards now are made by QQI.  You will continue to see the names FETAC, HETAC, NQAI and IUQB being used in this website for ease of reference during this transition period.

大學教育

愛爾蘭高等教育體系包括大學、理工學院和教育學院,雖然他們接受政府資助,但仍享有很高的自主權。除此之外,愛爾蘭高等教育體系亦包括私人和獨立學院。院校上課日期從每年九月份到六月份,其中有十二月份的假期(聖誕節)和四月份的假期(復活節)。大多數大學開辦學期制和單元化課程,使學生在學習上得到更大的靈活性。

愛爾蘭的大學
大學收生的要求是基於中學畢業證書考試的結果。超過60%的學生完成中學課程後能夠繼續升學,是全世界最高的升學比例。接收海外學生的要求一般根據其原來國家考試成績和英語水平。

愛爾蘭的大學、都柏林理工學院和一些理工學院都能自行授予認可成績給學生,至於非大學機構, 則由高等教育及培訓資歷委員會Higher Education and Training Awards Council( HETAC )授予認可學歷給學生。 HETAC除了授予認可學歷給學生外,並設立和監察各級高等教育以至碩士和博士學位的培訓標準。

以下的學術資格可在愛爾蘭高等教育機構取得:

高級證書:兩年的全日制課程
普通學士學位:三年的全日制課程
榮譽學士學位:一般是三或四年的課程
學士學位分級制度如下:

  • 一級
  • 二甲等級( 2:1 )
  • 二乙等級( 2:2 )
  • 三級
  • 及格
  • 不及格

研究生文憑:專為畢業生而設的職業導向課程 – 通常為期一年。
碩士學位:通過研究或通過講授課程。通常為期一年至兩年。
博士學位(博士) :通常需要至少三年的原創性研究。博士學位通常授予及格或不及格,極少數情況下獲得優異。

大學
愛爾蘭共和國共有七所大學

    這七所愛爾蘭的大學吸引著不少愛爾蘭本國、歐洲和國際學生前來報讀。大學提供了最先進和高質素的教育和濃厚的文化背景,予同學透過這些資源及廣泛的課程學習和從事研究。愛爾蘭政府尤其著重投資於學術性的發展和研究,驅使愛爾蘭的大學成為莘莘學子及研究人員的研習基地。這些大學確使愛爾蘭不斷進步,成為一個高質素的知識社會,以幫助探究出更出色的研究成果並培養出高技能的畢業生。
    愛爾蘭的大學學位備受國際認可,使其學歷能在歐洲和全世界應用。最近愛爾蘭官方報告顯示,愛爾蘭的高等教育和研究政策是歐洲的先驅者,而愛爾蘭的大學亦積極、充份地參與不少歐洲和國際性教學聯網。各大學亦聘請校外考官為學生評審成績,以確保授予的學位學歷資格能保持一貫標準。此外,愛爾蘭亦有一個高等教育機構Higher Education Authority (HEA) 代表教育和技能部Department of Education and Skills監督各大學之運作。

    理工學院
    愛爾蘭是世界上其中一個最大的軟件出口國,也是全球五大製藥和精細化學品生產商的所在地。高科技經濟持續的增長確保愛爾蘭的高等教育和技術行業提供了最高和最先進的標準,並創造了大量機遇。

    愛爾蘭共和國擁有14所理工學院。

    都柏林理工學院
    阿斯隆理工學院
    卡洛理工學院
    沃特福德理工學院
    科克理工學院
    唐道克理工學院
    鄧萊裡藝術設計與科技理工學院
    特拉利理工學院
    愛爾蘭考克理工學院
    塔拉特理工學院
    戈爾韋梅奧理工學院
    布蘭理工學院
    斯萊戈理工學院
    萊特肯尼理工學院

    它們提供愛爾蘭國家資歷架構的第6至10級的課程,由高級文憑,普通本科學位學士到碩士和博士學位,學科大部份是科學,工程技術和商業。此外,一些理工學院亦提供其他課程如人文學科和語言、醫療輔助學和保健、藝術與設計、旅遊等。

    每間理工學院須根據HETAC質量保證的協議,去驗證其學院的課程。由HETAC授予的學歷資格皆被國際學術、專業、貿易和工藝機構認可。另外,大部分院校設有課程,讓學生報考眾多專業機構的考試。

    愛爾蘭國立大學(A Federal University System)認可院校

    愛爾蘭國立大學( NUI )是四間成員大學和認可學院組成的大學聯邦系統。除了 UCD , UCC , NUIG和NUIM 四間成員大學之外 ,還有5間NUI認可的學院:
    •愛爾蘭皇家醫學院
    •國家藝術與設計學院
    •米爾頓神學和哲學學院
    •香儂酒店管理學院
    •公共管理學院

    私立學院

    私立學院與政府資助的高等教育院校相輔相成,主要從事提供商業及專業教育的培訓。所提供的課程包括:會計和商業研究、法律、人文學科、酒店和餐飲、旅遊學和藝術。許多由這些院校提供的課程由HETAC進行驗證,部分透過與大學和/或專業協會的聯繫而獲得認可。

    註:
    2012年11月6日,NQAI、HETAC 、 FETAC和愛爾蘭大學質量委員會( IUQB )完成合併,成立了一個新的綜合機構,愛爾蘭質素及資歷評審局 QQI。以前由HETAC , FETAC和IUQB授予學歷資格繼續予以承認,但現在則由QQI授予學歷資格。在這個過渡時期,你看到的名字FETAC 、 HETAC 、 NQAI和IUQB會繼續被用在這網頁方便參考 。